Super Rich Woman Buys Maxi Dresses for Everyone

You know those episodes of the Oprah Winfrey Show where she buys everyone in the studio audience a new car for no reason?  Well, I just witnessed something similar.  I was in my daughter’s favorite clothing store to buy her a graduation dress to wear to the middle school ceremony, and this really rich woman pulled up in her fancy Range Rover.  Ordinarily, it’s really easy to pass judgment on wealthy people and instantly think that they are snobs and what not, but woman was certainly the exception.  Yes, she wore expensive clothes and looked very well made up and put together.  And the way she was rapidly pulling items off the racks made me assume that she was.  I mean, she was grabbing maxi dresses like these with no regard to price.  Mrs. Money Bags wasn’t even looking at the hang tags.  I assumed she was stocking for her girls closet.  Or maybe she had mad maxi syndrome.  Or maybe she was starting a maxi taxi service.  But I couldn’t have been more wrong. 

 

Finally, I just had to ask what the deal was.  “What’s the deal with all those girls maxi dresses?”  I can be super nosey, but what the hey. You only go around once.  She told me she didn’t have any kids of her own, but she liked spoiling children all the same.  I guess she could see the confused look on my face.  The woman explained she was buying a bunch of maxi dresses for girls at the local homeless shelter.  It’s a way of giving back to the community.  I was completely floored.  What a wonderful gesture.  I asked her why she didn’t shop at a store that was less expensive, where she could get a brand of maxis that didn’t cost as much.  The nice person then went on to explain that when she gives a gift, she only gives quality.  There’s no point in giving a girl a dress if it’s just going to fall apart after a few washes.  And since many brands of maxi dresses are manufactured overseas where there’s little attention given to quality, she preferred to pay more for domestic dresses.  I asked if I could see the label of the dress she bought.  (I couldn’t check the clothes rack, because the woman had bought them all up!)   She told me she only likes to buy TwirlyGirl because their dresses are all made in America and she likes what the company stands for…. which is empowering girls to embrace their individuality and creativity.  I guess it’s about little girls remain young for as long as possible.  So many lines are age inappropriate, meaning they are basically women’s styles made to fit young girls.  And that is wrong for so many reasons.  There are so many pressures on girls these days, with all the social media and what not.  In many ways, I think we had it easier when we were growing up.

 

Anyway, I gotta say I feel grateful for meeting this special woman.  I’d like to think that if I had her money, I would be as noble.  Here’s the link to the TwirlyGirl websiteImageric if you want to see the maxi dresses for girls that she bought up.    

About duncanfaber4

I am primarily a blogger and personal shopper. I mainly write about girls fashion, since that is my area of expertise. Have a question or comment, I'd love to hear it!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

