These Maxi Dresses were very popular on Graduation Day

It’s graduation day at my daughter’s middle school. The end of an era, the beginning of a new one. The auditorium was packed with children. Boys who have finally combed their hair, and girls wearing new dresses with big smiles on their faces. The teachers look relieved and exhausted. The parents look horrified at the thought of having to entertain their kids the whole summer long. But what strikes me most about today, the thing that stands out more than everything else, is the fact that so many girls are wearing maxi dresses similar to these. Maxis! Did I miss a memo or something? Why was I not told that this would be the official uniform of summer? The ceremony itself was a little long and boring. Sorry, guys. It was. They must’ve sang a million songs, and to be honest, it wasn’t that thrilling to hear the principal pat himself on the back like that. But at least it’s only once a year.

After talking to other moms and dads, I soon learned that maxi dresses are all the rage among girls this season. They all like their fun colors and styles, and enjoy how sophisticated they make them look. What a laugh! I remember maxi dresses being big in the 1970s, back when I was young. Younger. Ugh. But I have to say, it sure is fun to see girls wear the styles that we made popular back in the day. I giggle when I hear them talk like they discovered it! And now I sound like an old lady. “When I was a girl, I used to wear my maxi dress like this!!!”

I will say this, however. The maxi styles today are more fun now than when I was little. There’s more variety, and the prints are cooler. For example, I did an internet search for girls maxi dresses, and I found one site in particular that really knows how to do them right. It’s called TwirlyGirl and they have a terrific assortment of dresses that are made right here in the USA. How amazing is that? I thought there was a law that all our clothes had to manufactured overseas! Well, good for them for creating jobs in our country. Also, their site is really fun. All of their dresses are accompanied by cute stories or poems that make the whole thing really entertaining. My girl and I must have spent at least an hour on their site, just poking around. She said it was as if she had fallen down the rabbit hole, and was in a land of fantasy. That’s a good way of describing it. You can get there by clicking on ththis. Have fun. We did!Image

About duncanfaber4

I am primarily a blogger and personal shopper. I mainly write about girls fashion, since that is my area of expertise. Have a question or comment, I'd love to hear it!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment