Girls Maxi Dress Graces Cover of Yearbook

You know kids.  They take themselves pretty seriously.  The latest example of this is my girl’s middle school yearbook.  She’s on the editorial committee, and by the way they talk about it, you’d think there were in the running for a pulitzer.  The five of them sit around the table, carefully choosing which images get published and which don’t.  Then they photoshop the whole thing, have another editors review, then they caption it, add quotes, etc.  It’s all very important stuff.  Far above my head, they tell me.  Naturally, there was much debate over which picture should grace the cover.  It had to be fun, whimsical, mature, but also reflect the standards of the school.  A tall order indeed!  They had a secret ballot vote, and when all was said and done, they chose to use a photo of a child in a girls maxi dress.  (Image A)  Maxi dresses are a lot of things.  They are funky, on trend, and stylistic.  But I’ve never known them to be newsworthy.  But what do I know.  I’m just a mom.  My girl constantly reminds me of that.

 

The girl in the photo wearing a maxi dress was also class president, as well as star girls basketball player, and on the honor roll.  So we know this for a fact:  she’s smart and has good taste.  In the pic, she’s jumping for joy, which shows the exuberance of moving on to high school.  I don’t know if the girl was doing this because she’s so exemplary, or if the fact that she was wearing a brand new maxi dress made her feel like laughing, skipping and jumping, but there’s no question, she looks happy to be on the front page!  

 Image

At the graduation ceremony, I ran into her at the dessert table they set up for the parents.  I was eating a brownie, even though I’m not supposed to because I’m hypoglycemic.  The girl told me she bought the maxi at her favorite online store, called TwirlyGirl.  She loves all of their clothes because they make her feel as pretty on the outside as she feels on the inside.  I thought that was a lovely way of thinking about it.  It’s refreshing when girls have such a healthy self image.  It made me want to log onto TwirlyGirl and buy my own girl a maxi dress.  Of course, she only wears jeans and overalls.  But when I showed her this picture, she told me that this maxi would be the one dress she would actually wear.  I thought that was absolutely unbelievable for her to say.  My teeth almost fell out of my head.  So as a public service announcement for all mom’s who have tomboy girls, here’s the link to their site.  www.twirlygirlshop.com  Wouldn’t it be great to see your girl in a maxi dress too?

About duncanfaber4

I am primarily a blogger and personal shopper. I mainly write about girls fashion, since that is my area of expertise. Have a question or comment, I'd love to hear it!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

